03
Dec
08

First post – Second place in bakeoff

Ah, my first ever blog post.  How to start off…

Well, I guess I can begin with a cake I recently baked to enter a company bakeoff.  I decided on a layered coconut cake that my friend had been recommending to me for nearly a year… I just never had an occasion to actually make it!  Or maybe I was just making excuses… anyway, I decided it was time to bust out the big guns and try to make a name for myself (or something like that).

I started with the recipe found here, supposedly for the famous Coconut Cake of the Peninsula Grill.  I then used the tips in this thread to modify it a bit and make it more moist.

I doubled the filling recipe, then replaced 1/2 cup of heavy cream with 1/2 cup of cream of coconut.  I also added 1 tsp of coconut extract, but that might not have been necessary.  I chilled the filling overnight before baking the actual cake.

I divided the batter into three 9″ cake pans, but then halved each cake so I would have six layers.  Unfortunately, I forgot to put parchment paper underneath the first cake I sliced, and so some of it stuck to the plate it was on 😡  I decided to just take this broken layer as a casualty and happily ate it with my dog 🙂

I only toasted 2 cups of coconut, and kept the rest untoasted.  To toast the coconut, I put them on a silpat and baked at 350 deg for 10 minutes.

The final product looked and tasted nice… unfortunately, I did not win the bakeoff, but ended up as second place (or first loser, as pessimists would say).  Oh well, it was still fun, and we all got to try a lot of great food!

I also baked the Double Apple Bundt Cake from Dorie Greenspan’s wondrous “Baking: From my Home to Yours”.

Group Photo!

Group Photo!

My finishing touches were some homemade applesauce and a maple syrup icing.

2 Responses to “First post – Second place in bakeoff”


  1. December 5, 2008 at 2:40 am

    hey jimkin, i’m really excited about this new venture! 😀 best of luck with your baking experiments.

  2. December 6, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I’m sorry you got second place, are you ok?

    buster wolf


Leave a Reply

