11
Feb
09

raspberry cheesecake brownies

Even though I just made a pound cake yesterday, I couldn’t ignore the chocolate cravings haunting me this morning!  I juggled the idea of making a chocolate souffle or a molten lava cake, but realized I misplaced my ramekins.  Then Richard informed that I forgot to give him some cheesecake two weeks ago, so I figured I’d kill two birds with one stone by baking some cheesecake brownies.

Okay, so it seems I couldn’t resist the urge to bake again this week.  That’s two weeks in a row I broke my NY resolution… oh well, I’m just doing my part to stimulate the economy.

Raspberry cheesecake brownies

Raspberry cheesecake brownies

I’ve tried my hand at cheesecake brownies before, and it always just seemed like a normal brownie that happened to have some cream cheese layer placed on top of it.  I wanted to make sure that the flavors blend in more nicely this time, so I tried keeping my brownies more moist by not overbeating the flour, and making sure the butter and all other ingredients were around 72 deg F.  Unfortunately, I was on the phone and I think I overbaked the brownies 😦  Oh well, for those of you who plan to try this recipe, remember to take it out between 35-40 minutes!  The cheesecake layer will still be jiggly and not set, but it will quickly set on the cooling rack.

Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies

from Baking Bites blog

Ingredients

  • Brownie layer:
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2-oz dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Cheesecake layer:
  • 8-oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup raspberry preserves/jam

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line an 8×8-inch square baking pan with aluminum foil and lightly grease.

2. In a small, heatproof bowl, melt butter and chocolate together. Stir with a fork until very smooth. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs and vanilla extract. Whisking steadily, pour chocolate mixture into sugar mixture. Stir until smooth. Sift flour, cocoa powder and salt into the bowl and stir until just combined.

Brownie layer ingredients

Brownie layer ingredients

4. Pour into prepared pan and prepare cheesecake mixture.

Brownie layer

Brownie layer

5. In a medium bowl, beat cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla extract until smooth. Drop in dollops onto prepared brownie batter. Drop dollops of raspberry preserves into the cheesecake batter. Gently swirl batters with a butter knife, giving the brownies a swirly look.

Cheesecake layer ingredients

Cheesecake layer ingredients

Pour onto brownie layer

Pour onto brownie layer

Add the raspberry preserves

Add the raspberry preserves

6. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until brownies and cheesecake are set. A knife inserted into the cheesecake mixture should come out clean and the edges will be lightly browned.  Cool in the pan completely before slicing and serving, either at room temperature or chilled.
Brownies can be refrigerated, covered, for several days.

3 Responses to “raspberry cheesecake brownies”


  1. 1 karen jean
    February 11, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    that looks so yummy. i don’t even like cheesecake – but i’d eat that in a second!

  2. February 12, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    but the question is, was the cheesecake layer fluffy? i want max fluffy.

  3. 3 Julie
    February 17, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    You know, when I ate it I completely forgot it was cheesecake until Dave said something about it in the car. Again… Delicious!


Leave a Reply

