11
May
09

My first groomscake!

Midget is married!!!  Congratulations Richard and Kristine!

The bride and groom with our groomsmens gift

The bride and groom with our groomsmen's gift

Well, that nickname doesn’t work anymore since he’s over 6′ tall.  But that’s what we used to call him when he was only 8 years old…. I guess he had the last laugh!  For this incredibly wonderful occasion, I had the honor of making a special groomscake.  I’ve never made anything at this level so I was pretty nervous, but thankfully he knew exactly what he wanted: cheesecake!

The completed 3 tiered cheesecake

The completed 3 tiered cheesecake

Hmmm… a wedding cheesecake to serve, well, hundreds of people?  Yep, this task seemed daunting at the time, but I wanted to make sure that I help make their special day as memorable as I could.  My original idea was to make a regular cheesecake and attempt to elaborately decorate it with pictures and fruit… but how fun would that be?  After a quick google search, I landed on this website, adapted from the Cake Bible.  A tiered cheesecake using a floating cake stand seemed like a great idea, and it allowed me to highlight Richard’s three greatest interests in the 18 years I’ve known him.

I didn’t actually use the exact recipe on that website.  Although I love The Cake Bible, I attempted a test cheesecake using her recipe the previous weekend and decided that I prefer Dorie’s cheesecake much better (which I made a day before for my friend Tony’s birthday.  Happy birthday— erm, happy kentucky derby day Tony!).  Since Dorie’s normal cheesecake is made for a 9″x3″ product, I performed some mathology and decided to quadruple her ingredients for the 12″, 10″ and 6″ cheesecakes.  I purchased the necessary springform pans but could not find a 12″ springform, so I settled for a regular 12″x3″ cake pan.

Cheesecake with spiced graham cracker crust

Cheesecake with spiced graham cracker crust

With the white chocolate cream cheese buttercream frosting

With the white chocolate cream cheese buttercream frosting

I’ve shared Dorie’s cheesecake recipe previously before, but I used a couple different crusts for the groomscake.  The 6″ and 10″ cheesecakes received the normal graham cracker crust, but I used crushed Honey Maid graham crackers, chopped walnuts, and some extra cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg to spice it up.  Since the 12″ was not going to be baked in a springform, I did not initially give it a crust.  Instead, I made a 12″ biscuit roulade (commonly known as a jelly roll cake) and used that for the base of the cheesecake.

The 12 cheesecake and its biscuit roulade base

The 12" cheesecake and its biscuit roulade base

I did however use the frosting recipe from the cake bible.  I’ve never eaten a cheesecake with frosting before, but I figured that the white chocolate cream cheese buttercream would go well with a cheesecake, while also making it prettier and easier to decorate.  The frosting was simple and easy to make and apply (thanks Kim for helping with the decorations!).  As for further decorations, I settled on the three most obvious interests in Richard’s life: Kristine, DOTA and basketball/Rockets.  The former two would be placed on top of the frosting using edible rice paper, and the basketball design would be made using food coloring and ganache for the lines.  I also molded a Rockets logo candy using red candy melts and piping it onto wax paper, then allowing to cool in the freezer.

Basketball cheesecake?

Basketball cheesecake?

Rockets candy mold

Rockets candy mold

I did run into a snag when I had the bright idea of baking the 6″ and 10″ cheesecake at once to save time.  Obviously, the smaller one was done first and thus was probably overbaked… by the time the cheesecakes finished their time in the water bath, the top of the 6″ was hard and brown.  I sliced off the brown layer but it did seem a bit drier or crumblier than usual.  Thus I had no choice but to make ANOTHER 6″ cheesecake (this is the 6th cheesecake I made that week!).  Unfortunately, when my friend and I took a slice of the “overbaked” one, we discovered it was just as creamy as normal.  Oh well!

Transportation was another problem.  I forgot to put some frosting between the cake plate and the cardboard cake circles, so the cakes slid around a bit in the car.  My car tire also had the great idea of exploding the night before the wedding (after the rehearsal dinner), so I couldn’t even drive!  Thanks to everyone who helped drive me and my cakes around on Saturday!

Exploding car tire

Exploding car tire

The wedding day was long, tiring, but probably the most fun I’ve had in a while.  It was the first Catholic wedding I ever attended, and I was honored to be a groomsman for my childhood friend.  They’re on their way to Hawaii for their honeymoon now, and I wish them all the luck in the future!

First tier: Rich and Kristine

First tier: Rich and Kristine

Second tier: DOTA?!

Second tier: DOTA?!

Third tier: basketball and Rockets!

Third tier: basketball and Rockets!

5 Responses to “My first groomscake!”


  1. May 12, 2009 at 11:06 am

    haha mathology. the rockets’ logo is impressive… didn’t know how you made that part.

  2. 2 Patrick
    May 13, 2009 at 8:19 am

    doooooooooooooooooooottttttaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  3. 3 Sandra
    May 14, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Did you get the transfer sheets off that website I gave you? Those pics are nice.

  4. 4 doraemonxo
    June 21, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    wow that rockets log was impressive!


Leave a Reply

